top of page
Diwani "Kotch" Velasquez

Diwani "Kotch" Velasquez


Master of Environmental Management and Development, 2001, Australian National University (ANU), Canberra, ACT
Master of Business Administration, 1999, Ateneo de Davao University (ADDU), Philippines
Bachelor of Business Management, 1993, University of the Philippines – Cebu College (UPCC)
TAFE/Vocation Studies
Diploma of Human Resources Management, Canberra Institute of Technology (CIT), Canberra, ACT
Diploma in Work Health and Safety, 2018, CIT
Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety, 2016
Roles & memberships:
2010 present - Founder and President (2019-21; 2010; 2013); Vice President and Public Officer (2014-18); Treasurer (2011-12) of Learning Filipino Together (LFT) T/a Filipino Language School of Canberra (FLSC)
2017 to present - Member, Filipino Advocates for Change and Transparency (Fil-ACT)
2013 – 2018 - Secretary, Filipino- Australian Society of Canberra (FASCAN)
2013, 2021-22 - Director and PRO, Filipino Community Council of the ACT (FCCACT)
2011 – 2018 - Secretary, Friends of Oolong (FOO)
12 Dec 2020 - Highly Commended, WHS & Wellbeing Team, EPSDD Director-General Awards
30 Oct 2016 - 2016 Filipino Australian Achiever–ACT from Filipino Communities Council of Australia (FILCCA)
1999-2001 - Scholar, Australian Development Scholarship (ADS), AUSAID for 2-year MEMD
1989-1993 - “Iskolar ng Bayan” (Scholar of the Country), University of the Philippines for 4-year BBM
I am well credentialed with an overseas tertiary qualification and two Postgraduate Master’s degree with one from ANU, have 10 years’ experience as Health and Safety Representative and program support, personnel, administrative and financial management experiences from Conservation Research, two years experiences as Safety and Wellbeing Support Advisor (S&WSA) from Safety and Wellbeing Team (S&W), and 10 years overseas experience in project and training management. My WHS role draws on my WHS qualifications attained from Canberra Institute of Technology (CIT) in 2018. was employed as Culture and Capability Officer of People and Capability Branch of the Environment Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate (EPSDD).
Every day is a new learning experience for me. My motto is to have an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and to upskill or develop new skills. I am a results-driven person and strive to make things happen and deliver services. To further support my career aspirations, I finished my Diploma in Human Resources (HR) last December 2021 at CIT which will provide me with formal HR qualification and be a well-rounded Human Resource practitioner/professional.

I am hardworking, dedicated, organised and methodical in my ways. My varied roles at home, at work, business and in other voluntary organizations, including my local Catholic parish have elicited quips such as ‘how does she do it?!’ Despite my diminutive persona. I am a proud Filipino-Australian who wants my children to grow up bilingual while maintaining their Filipino identity in the backdrop of Australia society and wants to help other people being an Atenean with a motto of Man and Women for Others.

Strengths and (IT) Skills:
Adept in various computer softwares such as Microsoft Windows System, Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Publisher, Outlook, Adobe Acrobat Professional, Microsoft Teams, CISCO Jabber, WebEx Meetings
Typing speed of 74.7 words per minute (WPM)
Able to work as part of the team
Willing to learn, quick learner and ability to handle new technology and equipment
Can create web accessible documents from MS Word and Adobe Acrobat
Flexible, friendly and positive manner
Proficient in carrying out instructions
Fun Fact:
I am a Martial Law Baby and due to curfew, I was born inside a Volkswagen Car
I climbed Mt Apo, the highest mountain in the Philippines twice.
I started as a WESP volunteer before gaining employment as a public servant.
I have 4 girls, no boys and married for the last 23 years
I love to play volleyball, badminton and recently mountain or road biking with my hubby.
I like to organise events including birthday parties for family, relatives and friends.
I like to travel and visit a few countries and cities in the Philippines. Australia is my first foreign country to visit
Current Job / Business:
WHS Advisor, ACT Corrective Services, People and Culture, ACT Corrective Services (ACTCS), Justice and Community Safety (JACS), ACT Government 2 Constitution Avenue, Canberra ACT 2601.

bottom of page